Dude Ranch by Bonnie Bryant

Dude Ranch is the sixth book in the Saddle Club series by Bonnie Bryant. In this novel, Stevie, Carole and Lisa are off on an adventure. They have been invited to visit Kate Devine’s family dude ranch.

Dude Ranch (Saddle Club 6) by Bonnie Bryant
Dude Ranch (Saddle Club 6) by Bonnie Bryant

Here the girls will put away their English style of riding and embrace western saddles, herding cattle and also roping stock. It’s a trip they’re all looking forward to. There is one downside for Stevie however – she’ll be missing her normal birthday celebrations with her twin, Alex.

Although Stevie is disappointed by her friends’ lack of sympathy for her birthday situation, she is delighted to learn many new things in the saddle and to even meet some new friends. Kate is made an out of town member of the Saddle Club and the three girls find themselves unexpectedly befriending another local who rides – but always without a saddle.

When you mix herding cattle, five horse crazy girls, a surprise birthday party and a run in with a rattle snake, you get the general idea of this book. Stevie, Carole and Lisa once again show their passion for horses and their joy for riding and learning.

Dude Ranch is an enjoyable read in a different setting to the usual Pine Hollow stables. The western focus helps to enlighten readers about another type of riding. On top of this, it’s nice to see a couple of other young women added to the story.  This is in the form of Kate and Christine who make future appearances in the series.

Author: Bonnie Bryant
Fiction – pre and early teenage years.
In My Library? Along with many others in the series!
Want it? Get it now on Amazon.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.