Profile On: Rachel Peake, Stud Hand

Have you always been interested in horses and when did you start out in the industry? What is it exactly that you do?
I have always had a very strong interest in horses because I have lived around them since a young age. I began riding at 8 years of age, and competing competitively at 12 years of age.

After completing Year 12 I obtained a Certificate III in Equine Nursing, and then went on to get a Double Diploma of Equine Stud Management & Performance.

I started becoming active in the thoroughbred industry when I did 8 weeks work experience at Blue Gum Farm, Euroa. I have since worked at Supreme Thoroughbreds and am now working at a newly set up broodmare farm, Asscher Park, Euroa.

Rachel at the Sales at Oaklands Junction

Some of my tasks that I take part in are:

  • vetting
  • foaling down
  • handling young stock
  • preparing and distributing feeds
  • administering medications
  • preparing weanlings and yearlings for sales around Australia

How much of your day/week is related to horses?
Pretty much my whole week is dedicated to horses.

When I am not working with the horses/foals at work I spend my spare time working my own horse, and preparing him for competitions.

In this field of work, is it possible to be a full time professional and earning a liveable income?
With this particular section of the equine industry it is possible to be a full time professional and earn a liveable income. However, it comes with a lot of hard work, a good work ethic, a good positive attitude, and persistence. It won’t happen overnight.

What are the general steps taken to be employed in such a role?
You generally need some sort of qualification under your belt so that you have the basic understanding and skills.

I would start by making sure you have a Cert II in Equine Industry so you have the basic knowledge and skills before you enter the workforce. But it is also about taking some initiative and applying for jobs because they won’t just come to you!

Favourite horse memory?
It would have to be leading my first yearling through the ring at the 2012 Melbourne Premier Yearling Sales with Supreme Thoroughbreds and coming 3rd at the 2011 State Dressage Championships. They were both surreal moments and something that I had worked extremely hard to get to.

Future goals?
In the next 2-3 years I want to be able to manage a yearling preperation team of both staff and horses and become more heavily involved in the management of broodmares, including intensive foal care.

Best thing about your sport/profession?
I love following a horse through to its racing career knowing that you have in some way helped it get there. Whether that is because you were the one that foaled it down, or worked with it during a weanling or yearling preparation.

Also, I love all of the people that you meet in the industry. You will make long life friends and make a lot of amazing memories!

Tag: , , ,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.